Sally Hansen’s Salon Effect Review

I have a few friends that enjoy creating their own nail art or at least keeping up with fancy manicures. I figured I hadn’t written a blog about nail art for a while,  so here we go!

Are nail strips more effective than actual liquid nail polish?

I tried out Sally Hansen’s Salon Effect nail strips to see if they were actually worth the money. Of course, if you don’t have the time to paint your nails before a big night out on the town these may be a speedy option for you. How did these measure up to liquid polish?

If you don’t have a steady hand or patience to do your own nail art the nail strips offer you many assorted designs. The application process to get them form fitting to your nai is a little bit nerve racking. Inside the box you’ll find a nail file and something that looks like a cuticle stretcher. I found both of these to be unsatifactory for assisting me during the application process. I required help from another person when fitting them to my nails. The directions tells you to use the nail file for shaping but I used scissors to cut the excess strips from my nails. I found the time it took me to apply them would probably take almost the same if I painted my nails. I personally think if you’re looking for a unique look, then these would be a great complementing item.

Is it worth the price?

You can purchase a variety of polishes anywhere from $2.99 and up. If you’re looking for something more intricate and aren’t worried about the one time price of nail strips starting from $8.50, then these will work for you. After applying these be sure to apply a top coat to them.
On my first attempt of using these I didn’t apply a top coat thinking the stamp of approval telling me they would last 7 days was enough. They were good for about 3 days, then they began to chip on the edges. On my second attempt I used my favourite top coat by Rimmel to seal the deal. I found they lasted forever with the top coat applied to them.

 

 

Would I purchase these in the future? Final rating:

Like I said in the post, I would purchase these if I wasn’t looking to do nail art myself. I would use these if I wanted to have a special floral or a fishnet print (in photo above). If I was only painting my nails a flat colour I would stick to my nail polishes I have already and save my money.

My Rating: 3/5

2 thoughts on “Sally Hansen’s Salon Effect Review

  1. I have the nude lace pattern of them, to be honest I find I get better effects using my Konad/Bundle Monster nail stamping stuff, and in less time. But I shouldn’t talk, since I paint most of my own designs….

Leave a Reply

