Life’s Too Short

9. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

I think a lot of people take for granted what they get from life. Think of all the opportunities and chances we are given but people merely throw them away thinking they’ll have another shot at it. I think creating my Day Zero Project has allowed me to try to do things I wouldn’t normally do without setting some type of goal. I could’ve just sat back and said I would do this or that but actually having an end point has helped me gradually complete things on the list. Deep down I believe that people are scared of change. We get comfortable in living a certain way for so long that we don’t want to rearrange how things have ‘always been’. It easier to tread lightly and not take a dive into strange waters. This is why we probably see friends stay in loveless relationships or never leave that job that makes them miserable. As much as we don’t like certain things, we love them at the same time since they allow us to live comfortably in a repetitive cycle. We get caught in living in dreams and are too scared to act on them.

We’re all victims to this though. Can you think of a time where you fell victim to this vicious cycle? How did you break it?

One thought on “Life’s Too Short

Leave a Reply

