Review: The Hunger Games (Spoilers from book and film)

Last night I lined up 3 hours in advance for the midnight show of The Hunger Games. Myself and few of my coworkers decided a week ago to attend the midnight screening. Now I understand that lots of people might disagree with my review, which is fine. I offer you to start a discussion in the comments section of this entry.

So, I’m going to talk about the things I enjoyed in the film in comparison to the novel and of course, the things I didn’t enjoy in the film in comparison to the novel.

Going into the film I only really knew about Jennifer Lawrence (as Katniss Everdeen), Josh Hutcherson (as Peeta Mellark) and Liam Hemsworth (as Gale Hawthrone) since they’re gorgeous faces have been all over the television and online for weeks leading up to the film being released. As the film unfolds, I’m shocked to see the Canadian Morgan Freeman in it!! Donald Sutherland! (as President Snow). I knew from him being casted that if he’s in this movie that it’s going to be awesome. Along with him, Woody Harrelson (as the District 12’s mentor, Haymitch), Stanley Tucci (as Caesar Flickerman), and Wes Bentley (as the Gamemaker, Seneca Crane). I thought these  4 men gave the film a lot of depth.  I feel kind of old for being able to appreciate and fawn over these actors. I just felt their acting was way more entertaining and worth while. I honestly enjoyed their scenes more so than the ones with Katniss and Peeta.

What I enjoyed the most was how the film focused on the outside perspective of the Game. In the novel, we’re only subjected to the point of view of Katniss and what she thinks and sees. But in the film they actually show us how the Games are manipulated and created. Personal conversations between President Snow and Seneca Crane become the focal point of the film. We get to see Gale and Katniss’ family watching the Games from their home. Finally, the riots and termoil of Rue’s death from District 11.

The only reason I didn’t like the film in comparison to the novel was that some scenes were not believeable enough. I found the sudden attraction between Katniss and Peeta to be ‘off’. All we see in the film is that, he threw her bread in the past, he confesses to a crush on her during his interview,  he sides with the elite pack in the Games, then they’re suddenly smitten with one another. I know! In the novel, it is easier to build a relationship or story between multiple characters. I just didn’t see how they got from A -> B -> C and I feel like it spoiled the film for me. To be honest, I’m sort of biased on these two. For the record, I’ve only read The Hunger Games and I’ve just started Catching Fire. I absolutely dislike Peeta’s character. I think he’s not masculine at all and IMO he spent the entire time in The Hunger Games (book+film) whining and being a follower. I didn’t see him fight in anyway successfully in the film which just supported my hate for him from the novel. We’re not exposed to Gale as much in the film like we are in the novel. The whole connection between Gale and Katniss is kind of left to be ambiguous. I have a feeling that he’ll be more of a focus in Catching Fire.

If there is a TEAM GALE/TEAM PEETA battle, I’m definitely on TEAM GALE.

What team are you on?

5 thoughts on “Review: The Hunger Games (Spoilers from book and film)

    • Thanks so much! I’ve had to force myself to not read it until my classes finish on April 2nd. For a book nerd that is an eternity! I’m truly punishing myself. Hope you enjoyed the book.

  1. I really liked your review, and I’m very interested to see which team you land on when you finish the series. I am completely and totally on Team Peeta, but I can see why you’d be Team Gale after the first book. 🙂

    • I can’t wait to read the other two! School has been holding me back. When I get a chance, I’ll write blogs for Catching Fire and Mockingjay too! Thanks for reading! Check out some of my other posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

