St. Patty’s Day Cupcakes

Forgive me now. I’m writing this post from my Blackberry. I’m kind of curious as to how it turns out. I love baking! I should really upload more of the designs I’ve created in the past. Anyways, I had a potluck at my work on Friday and I decided to make some vanilla cupcakes with mint icing. The mint icing was totally easy to make! I love making my own buttercream icing from scratch.

To ensure you have the best buttercream icing ALWAYS make sure you have unsalted butter. I used icing sugar and added it as I mixed the butter in a bowl. As I did that I also added the peppermint extract to the unsalted butter and icing sugar. When figuring out the flavour for the icing make sure you add a little bit each time before you settle on an exact flavour you like. This means a lot of taste testing as you add! Extract is very strong, so be kind to your friends that will be eating your cupcakes with this icing.  You may think you need a tablespoon but you might actually only require a teaspoon!

** TIPS: It depends how sweet you would like your icing, but always try to add the same amount of icing sugar to match the amount of butter you have used. This concept can also be applied to when you add extracts to your icing. Add bit by bit since it’s easy to adjust

** The unsalted butter should be at room temperature to allow for you to get the best consistency possible for it.

Anyways!
Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

